A survey pushed through a story sticker or a link in bio can pull in more answers in the first hour than a free plan is built to hold. The team finds out not when they launch the survey but days later, when they open the results and the count stops matching what the audience actually sent. Picking SurveyMonkey or Typeform for an audience research push means knowing, before the link goes out, where each tool’s free tier actually stops and what the next paid tier removes.
Why an audience research survey is a different job than a lead form
A lead capture form and an audience research survey solve different problems, even though both live behind a button on a landing page or a link in bio. A lead form collects a small, qualified set of contacts and stops: name, email, maybe a phone number, gated behind one or two fields. The tooling around that job, covered in the embedded lead-capture forms piece, caps the number of submissions a form accepts, not the number of people who see it.
An audience research survey is the opposite shape: pushed through a story sticker or a bio link to as many people as will click in a short window, often the lifespan of a single story, aiming for volume before attention moves on. That volume, not a qualified-contact count, is what SurveyMonkey or Typeform meters. It also usually needs branching or skip logic, routing different respondents to different follow-up questions, which a simple lead form has no reason to offer. This piece covers general-purpose survey and polling tools built for that job, not the embedded on-site forms already covered in the lead-capture post linked above. The two mechanics look similar from a distance. They are not the same constraint.
What SurveyMonkey’s plans actually cap
SurveyMonkey’s own pricing page, fetched September 9, 2026, lists a free plan called Basic. Basic’s response limit is set per survey rather than per month, and the page’s FAQ states it plainly: “Basic lets you view a limited number of responses per survey, even if you collect more. Your response limit is visible when you sign up or log in to a Basic account.” SurveyMonkey does not say collection stops at the free cap; it says Basic limits how many collected responses you can view, with the exact number visible only after signup. Since the page does not print that number alongside the explanation, the exact free-tier figure is marked [EVIDENCE NEEDED: the specific per-survey response number SurveyMonkey shows a logged-in Basic account].
The cheapest paid tier, Standard Monthly, moves the limit to a plan-wide response count rather than a per-survey view cap. Whether respondents can still submit once Basic’s view limit is reached, or the survey stops accepting new answers, is not stated: [EVIDENCE NEEDED: whether Basic stops accepting new responses at the cap or only hides them from view].
Branching and skip logic are gated. Basic’s feature set marks skip logic and advanced branching as disabled. A free-plan SurveyMonkey survey is a flat sequence of questions with no logic to route respondents by their answers.
What Typeform’s plans actually cap
Typeform’s pricing page, fetched the same day, separates its free plan from its cheapest paid plan more sharply than the comparison table suggests at first glance. That table’s rows begin at “Basic,” a paid plan at 39 USD per month billed monthly (28 USD per month billed yearly), listing a “Monthly response base” of 100, rising to 1,000 on Plus and 10,000 on Business. A separate “Maximum monthly response limit” row covers the ceiling once add-ons are included, but the printed markup did not surface that number.
The free plan sits outside that table. Typeform’s FAQ describes it only as including “basic features with a limited number of responses per month,” without printing the number. Since 100 per month belongs to paid Basic and not the free plan, the free plan’s exact monthly cap is marked [EVIDENCE NEEDED: the specific monthly response number Typeform’s free plan allows]. The same FAQ states that “each plan includes a set number of responses per month, with different limits depending on the plan selected,” with upgrading as the path to collect more and teams needing over 50,000 responses a month directed to sales. Whether a form stops accepting responses at the cap or keeps collecting and withholds the overflow is not stated: [EVIDENCE NEEDED: whether Typeform stops accepting responses at the cap or continues collecting and withholds access until upgrade].
Logic, Typeform’s term for branching, appears as included starting at the paid Basic tier in the “Add logic to your forms” row. The free plan’s own logic availability is not printed separately: [EVIDENCE NEEDED: whether Typeform’s free plan includes logic jumps].
SurveyMonkey and Typeform, side by side on the two things that matter here
| SurveyMonkey | Typeform | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan response cap | A per-survey view limit on Basic. SurveyMonkey’s FAQ describes the mechanic but the exact number is not printed in plain text on the current page. [EVIDENCE NEEDED] | A monthly response limit on the free plan. Typeform’s FAQ describes the mechanic but the exact free-plan number is not printed; the table’s 100-per-month figure belongs to paid Basic, not the free plan. [EVIDENCE NEEDED] |
| What happens at the cap | Not stated as a hard stop. The page describes Basic as limiting how many collected responses you can view, without confirming whether new responses stop recording. [EVIDENCE NEEDED] | Not stated. The FAQ explains each plan has a set monthly number and describes upgrading as the path to collect more, without confirming whether the form stops accepting or keeps collecting and withholds. [EVIDENCE NEEDED] |
| Branching or skip logic on free plan | Not available. Basic’s feature set marks skip logic and advanced branching as disabled. | Not confirmed for the free plan. Logic appears as included starting at paid Basic in the comparison table; the free plan’s own logic availability is not printed separately. [EVIDENCE NEEDED] |
| Cheapest paid tier that changes the cap | Standard Monthly, moving from a per-survey Basic view limit to a plan-wide response count. | Basic, 39 USD per month billed monthly (28 USD per month billed yearly), with a printed monthly response base of 100. |
Neither tool is named as the better choice. Which plan fits depends on the response volume a specific campaign expects and whether the survey needs question routing.
Planning the response cap around a real launch window
Picture an audience research survey pushed through a story sticker to a following in the low tens of thousands. If even a modest single-digit percentage taps through and answers, a free-tier cap measured in the low hundreds, whichever exact figure applies, gets used up in the story’s first hours, before the 24-hour window closes. The team finds out mid campaign, when the response count stops climbing at the same rate as the story’s view count, and by then part of the audience has already answered into a survey that either stopped counting them or is holding their answers until someone upgrades. That is the wall a team hits: partway through the window, not after it closes.
Before sending a research survey to an audience of any real size, check the specific plan page for the current cap and logic availability, not this article. Both pricing pages describe limits as tied to the currently selected plan, and both change without a public changelog. A number accurate on the date this was fetched is not a guarantee of what the same plan shows the week the survey goes out.
Get more out of the tools you already run
Following what these tools actually gate on their free tiers, before a launch depends on the number being right, is the point of this blog. Followed tracks pricing and feature changes across the social media tools market the same way. Read the rest of the coverage at the followed blog.
FAQ
Does a survey stop collecting responses the moment the free plan cap is hit, or does it keep collecting and just hide the results? Neither pricing page states this plainly. SurveyMonkey’s FAQ describes Basic as limiting how many already-collected responses you can view, suggesting the survey may keep collecting while some stay gated from view, but does not confirm this outright. Typeform’s FAQ describes a monthly cap with upgrading as the remedy, without confirming whether new responses are refused or withheld. Both mechanics are marked EVIDENCE NEEDED above rather than assumed.
Is a response cap the same thing as a submission limit on a lead-capture form? No. A lead-capture form’s submission limit, covered in the embedded lead-capture forms piece, caps how many qualified contacts a form accepts before closing. A survey tool’s response cap is tied to total volume across a plan or survey over a billing period, built to be hit by high-volume audience research rather than a small batch of qualified leads.
Can I switch plans mid campaign if I am about to hit the cap? Both pages present upgrading as the standard path to raise a response limit, and Typeform’s FAQ states a team can “easily upgrade to collect even more responses.” Neither page documents a mid-cycle mechanic beyond that, such as whether responses collected before the upgrade count against the new limit.
Do I need branching logic for an audience research survey, or is a flat list of questions enough? Branching matters when different answers should route respondents to different follow-up questions, common in content research surveys segmenting an audience before a second round of questions. A flat list works for a single-topic pulse check. SurveyMonkey’s free Basic plan excludes skip logic and advanced branching, per its feature set. Typeform’s free plan’s logic availability is not confirmed separately from the paid Basic tier, where logic is included.
Sources
- SurveyMonkey Pricing, fetched September 9, 2026
- Typeform Pricing, fetched September 9, 2026
- Response-Metered Form Tools: What a Campaign Spike Costs You, followedapp.com, checked September 9, 2026
