Uptime Monitoring for the Page a Social Campaign Actually Sends Traffic To

A paid social campaign does not stop spending when the page it points at stops responding. The ad keeps serving, the link in bio keeps resolving, and the budget keeps drawing down against a destination returning an error. Nothing in the ad manager will tell you. So, for one campaign landing page: what does it cost to be told the page is down, and how many minutes pass before you are told.

The gap between what gets watched and what doesn’t

Campaign instrumentation stops at the edge of the platform. Impressions, engagements and outbound clicks all describe events on the platform’s side of the click. An outbound click means a person tapped the link, not that the page served an HTTP 200. A click pointing at a page returning a 500 is still billed. That is not an attribution question but spend continuing at full rate against a destination that cannot convert anyone.

Separate it from a problem that looks similar in a dashboard. Analytics undercounting is a measurement failure on a page that works: visitors arrive, the page loads, the tooling fails to attribute them. This blog covered that in a piece on why analytics tools can misreport social traffic even when the page is working fine. The problem here is cruder. The page is not up.

What an uptime monitor actually does, in plain terms

The mechanism takes one sentence. A service requests your URL from its own servers on a fixed schedule and messages you when the response is not what it expects.

The interval matters most, because it sets the ceiling on your ignorance. Five minute checks mean a page can be down for just under five minutes before the monitoring service itself knows, with the alert after that. Sixty second checks cut the ceiling to under a minute.

For one campaign page the requirement list is short: one URL tracked, checks frequent enough to matter during your spending window, and an alert that reaches a device you are looking at. Not a fleet dashboard. The entry tiers below exist for buyers watching a handful of URLs.

Free and entry-tier check intervals, vendor by vendor

Everything below was read from each vendor’s own pricing page on 6 September 2026. Where a page states nothing, the cell says so.

VendorFree tierFree check intervalEntry paid tierEntry intervalAlert channels stated
UptimeRobotYes, $0/month, 50 monitors5 minutesSolo, $10/month monthly or $9/month annual, 10 monitors60 secondsFree lists five basic third-party integrations, named on the page as Google Chat, Discord, Pushover, Pushbullet and Splunk, and states notify seats unavailable. Solo adds Slack, Mattermost, Telegram and MS Teams.
Better StackYes, $0/month, 10 monitors and heartbeats, 1 status pageNot stated on the pricing pageResponder licence, $34/month monthly or $29/month annual, 10 monitors includedUp to 30 secondsFree lists Slack and e-mail alerts. Unlimited phone call alerts and unlimited SMS are attached to the paid responder licence.
PingdomNo free plan listed, free trial onlyNot applicableSynthetic Monitoring sold by quantity, smallest bundle 10 uptime checks, 1 advanced check, 50 SMS. Price renders client side and did not resolve in the fetched page.Not stated on the pricing pagePage lists email and SMS alerting, with SMS allocated per bundle.
StatusCakeYes, $0/month, 10 uptime monitors5 minutesSuperior, $24.49/month monthly or $20.41/month annual, 100 monitors1 minuteEmail alerts and integrations on free. Free SMS credits start at Superior with 75 per month, 400 on Business.
Site24x7Yes, free forever plan, uptime for up to 50 resourcesNot stated for the free planWeb Uptime, $10/month monthly or $9/month annual, 25 websites1 minute pollingFree forever plan states instant downtime email alerts. Paid tier lists third party integrations.
Uptime.comNo free plan listedNot applicableWebsite Monitoring from $9/month, shown as $108/year by the page’s own subscription calculator1 minuteEmail, SMS alerting and 20 or more integrations, listed on the entry plan.
PulseticYes, $0/month, 10 monitors5 minutesSolo, $9/month or $90/year60 secondsEmail alerts on free, SMS and call alerts explicitly not included on free. Solo includes 30 or more SMS and call alerts, extra alerts $0.10 each.

The fastest free interval anyone here publishes is five minutes, at UptimeRobot, StatusCake and Pulsetic. The step to the cheapest paid tier is mostly five minutes to sixty seconds, for nine to ten dollars a month.

Alert channels are the part that actually matters mid-campaign

A thirty second interval delivers nothing if the notification lands where nobody is looking. Pulsetic’s table is the most explicit: SMS and call alerts carry a dash on the free column and a number on every paid one. StatusCake’s free SMS credit allocation is blank, with 75 credits arriving at Superior. Better Stack’s free plan lists Slack and e-mail alerts, and puts unlimited phone call alerts and unlimited SMS behind the responder licence. Site24x7’s free forever plan lists downtime email alerts. UptimeRobot’s free column names five basic third-party integrations, Google Chat, Discord, Pushover, Pushbullet and Splunk, and states that notify seats are unavailable.

Read across the seven pages: SMS and phone call alerts are paid at every vendor here, while push to a phone is reachable free at UptimeRobot through Pushover or Pushbullet. That matters during a launch, because an email alert sitting unread while you are in the ads manager is the same as no monitoring.

Sizing the monitor to the campaign, not the other way around

Picture a small team pushing a two week campaign to one landing page, with the heaviest spend in the first four days. The instinct is the free plan, because there is only one URL. The arithmetic argues against it.

On a five minute free interval, a failure beginning just after a successful check is invisible for that whole interval before the next request is even attempted. The cheapest paid tier at UptimeRobot or Pulsetic, nine to ten dollars a month, drops that to sixty seconds, with SMS and call alerts included at Pulsetic’s Solo tier. Uptime.com and Site24x7 reach one minute checks at $9 and $10.

Each publishes monthly billing alongside the annual option, so the entry tier can be bought for the month the campaign runs. Pulsetic’s pricing FAQ states a subscription can be cancelled from the account without contacting support. Whether a monitor can be paused and resumed on a schedule is [EVIDENCE NEEDED: a statement on the vendor’s own pricing page confirming monitors can be paused or created for a fixed window without affecting billing], stated on none of the seven pages fetched. The false economy is defaulting to free during the window when a five minute blind spot costs most.

What this does not replace

An uptime monitor answers one question: did the page respond correctly to a request. It does not tell you who clicked, which ad they came from, or whether analytics recorded the session. A page can pass every check for a fortnight and still misreport most of its social traffic. Conflating the two means buying the wrong product.

Before the next campaign goes live

Pick the tier by alert channel first and interval second, then check whether monthly billing lets you carry it only for the weeks you spend. The rest of this blog’s tooling coverage sits in the blog’s other tooling coverage.

Prices and check intervals verified 6 September 2026 against each vendor’s own pricing page, linked in Sources below. This is not Watchdog data and is not on the re-verification schedule, so treat any figure here as accurate to that date and confirm on the vendor’s page before buying. followedapp is published by the team behind RecurPost, and RecurPost is covered vendor #34 under the same rules as every other vendor.

FAQ

Do I need enterprise infrastructure monitoring to watch one campaign landing page?

No. Every vendor here sells a low-monitor-count plan at the bottom of its range, ten monitors on the free tiers at Better Stack, StatusCake and Pulsetic and fifty on UptimeRobot’s, because most buyers at that price watch one URL or a handful.

What is the fastest free check interval available?

Five minutes, per the pricing pages fetched on 6 September 2026. UptimeRobot, StatusCake and Pulsetic each state a five minute interval on their free plans, and no vendor here publishes a faster one.

Will an uptime monitor tell me why traffic isn’t converting?

No. It confirms only that the page responded correctly, a different question from who arrived, how they got there, and whether the visit was recorded. Conversion and attribution are the separate problem covered in the analytics piece linked earlier.

Can I run a monitor for just the days my campaign is live?

Partly. Every vendor here publishes monthly billing next to the annual option, so the entry tier can be bought for one month, and Pulsetic’s pricing FAQ states subscriptions can be cancelled from the account without contacting support. Whether an individual monitor can be paused or scheduled for a fixed window is [EVIDENCE NEEDED: a statement on the vendor’s own pricing page confirming pausable or fixed-window monitors], stated on none of the seven pages fetched.

Sources

Scroll to Top