A post is performing, someone wants to put budget behind it, and the creative uses a stock photo or a licensed music bed. The question lands about ninety seconds before the spend does: does the licence cover a paid ad? On 5 September 2026 we read five licensors’ own documents. Three answer clearly, one is silent, one will not serve its licence text at all.
The organic assumption most teams are working from
The phrase doing the damage is “royalty-free”. It describes a payment structure, not a scope of permitted use. Getty Images says so itself: “royalty-free means that the licence fee is paid once and there is no need to pay additional royalties if the content is reused.” Scope of use is a separate clause in the same agreement, a grant paragraph followed by a restricted-uses list, and that clause decides whether an ad is in bounds.
The second assumption is subtler. Teams treat the native promote button as lighter than an ads manager campaign because the interface is lighter. A licence does not know which button was pressed. Both pay a platform to push an asset past the reach it earned, and the licence’s own definitions of use, distribution and medium decide coverage, not product naming. None of the five documents contains the word “boost”.
What “advertising use” means in a stock licence, read literally
Getty’s Content Licence Agreement, last updated April 2026, grants royalty-free content as perpetual, worldwide, “Unlimited, meaning content can be used an unlimited number of times”, covering “Any and all media”. The word “advertising” appears exactly once, as a restriction on editorial content: “you may not use content marked ‘editorial’ or ‘intended for editorial’ for any commercial, promotional, advertorial, endorsement, advertising, gambling/betting/gaming uses, or merchandising purpose.” The structure is inverted from what a nervous social manager expects: advertising is not a tier you buy up into, it is a use editorial-marked content is carved out of. The terms “enhanced license”, “extended license” and “impressions” appear nowhere.
iStock’s Content License Agreement, last updated July 2026, is the most direct of the five. It names advertising among permitted uses: “Examples of how you can use licensed content include: websites; blog posts; social media; advertisements; marketing campaigns”, continuing through print and packaging. It sets out two tiers: “Every file downloaded from iStock comes with a standard license. An extended license gives you additional rights in exchange for an additional license fee.”
Freepik’s terms-of-use URL resolves to a document served under the Magnific brand, headed “Freepik is now Magnific”. Its Section 8 grant is worldwide and non-exclusive, with no paid-media clause in either direction, only another editorial carve-out barring marked content from “advertising, marketing or commercialization of any product or service”. On paid versus organic it is silent. Envato Elements could not be read at all: its licence terms sit on a help subdomain that returned HTTP 403, so nothing from that document is quoted here. Its pricing page does load and summarises the licence as covering “commercial use, including client work & monetization”, but “advertising” appears nowhere on it, leaving the question unresolved rather than answered.
The threshold nobody advertises
| Licensor | Document examined | Paid-promotion clause? | Quantified threshold? | Source, read 5 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Getty Images | Content Licence Agreement, April 2026 | Only as an editorial restriction | Not stated | gettyimages.com/eula |
| iStock | Content License Agreement, July 2026 | Yes, advertisements permitted under the standard licence | Print only: 500,000, expressly not electronic | istockphoto.com/legal/license-agreement |
| Freepik (served as Magnific) | Terms of use, Section 8 grant | Silent on paid versus organic | Not stated | freepik.com/legal/terms-of-use |
| Envato Elements | Licence terms unreadable, HTTP 403. Pricing summary read instead | Not determinable | Not stated | elements.envato.com/pricing |
| Epidemic Sound | Pricing and Licensing page | Yes, in the FAQ | Not stated | epidemicsound.com/pricing |
One number surfaced across the five, and it is the wrong shape for the problem. iStock’s is a print run: “Unless you purchase an extended license, you may not reproduce the content more than 500,000 times in physical print form. This restriction does not apply to electronic reproduction.” A cap on flyers that exempts digital says nothing about paid social, and no document read here attaches a number to spend, audience size or duration.
Music beds carry a second, separate risk
Music fails twice over. First, the licence may not extend to paid advertising, so the ad is out of scope the moment it is submitted. Second, a licence that does cover advertising still sits underneath the platform’s ad review, which can reject the creative on its own rules alone.
Epidemic Sound answers the first question on its Pricing and Licensing page without hedging, under “Can I use Epidemic Sound for ads?”: “Yes, you can use our music and sound effects for ad campaigns if you choose a Pro or Enterprise plan.” That is a conditional yes, and the condition is the plan tier. The same page separately calls the catalogue royalty-free, the payment structure again, not the scope. No spend or duration figure appears.
What Meta’s own ad standards say about licensed content
This is the one source here that could not be read. Meta’s advertising standards, published on its transparency domain, refuse automated requests, and a page that will not serve its text is not a source, so nothing from it is quoted or paraphrased. [EVIDENCE NEEDED: the section of Meta’s published advertising standards dealing with intellectual property rights in ad creative, read directly on the page it is published on.] Open that section in a browser before assuming what it asks of you.
The structure holds without it. Whatever rights a platform requires an advertiser to hold in submitted creative sit on top of the stock or music licence, not in place of it. Two gates, in sequence. A stock licence is no argument to an ad reviewer, and passing review is not evidence your licence covered the use.
Three questions the licences leave open
- Is a natively boosted post treated the same as an ads manager campaign? None of the five uses platform-specific language. Nothing distinguishes the two, and nothing confirms they are equivalent.
- Does coverage depend on spend, audience size or duration? Four of the five state no figure of any kind, and the one number found is a print run that exempts electronic reproduction.
- Who checks before the money goes out? These documents place obligations on “you”, the licensee, without saying whether that is whoever downloaded the asset, whoever built the ad, or whoever approved the budget. In an agency those are three people, and the licensors do not resolve it.
A four-step check before you boost
- Find the actual licence document. Not the pricing page, not a help-centre summary. It is the licence agreement, EULA or terms of use, linked from the account area, checkout or footer legal links. Envato above is why.
- Search it for “advertising”, “promotional” and “paid”. Do not search “commercial” and stop. Getty’s grant is fully commercial and still names advertising once, inside a restriction.
- Look for a number: impressions, spend, duration, print run. If you find one, read what it applies to. A print-run cap exempting electronic reproduction does not constrain paid social.
- Treat silence as unresolved, not as permission. Email the licensor’s support when spend is material, when an agency carries client liability, or when the account belongs to a brand that is not yours.
A short worked example
Take a hypothetical case, generic and invented for illustration. A social team wants to boost a post whose image came from iStock on a standard licence. They open the Content License Agreement rather than the plans page, search “advertising”, and find “advertisements” in the permitted-uses list beside “social media”. They search for a number, hit the 500,000 print-run cap, and read the next sentence exempting electronic reproduction. Nothing is silent, so no support email is needed. The one live question is whether the file was marked editorial.
This is not legal advice
This is a reading of five licence documents, not legal advice. A team with material budget or client liability at stake should have counsel read the specific agreement. If you take one action from this piece, make it step one: find the licence document for the asset in your next campaign.
Licence terms verified 5 September 2026, from each licensor’s own page as cited below. This is not Watchdog data and not on the re-verification schedule, so treat every quotation as accurate on the date read and nothing more. followedapp is published by the team behind RecurPost.
FAQ
Does “royalty-free” mean I can use an asset in any ad, at any budget?
No. Royalty-free is a payment model, no per-use royalty after the initial fee, and Getty’s agreement defines it in those terms. Scope of permitted use is a separate clause in the same document, and that clause decides whether an ad is covered.
Does my licence automatically upgrade when I add ad spend?
Nothing read here self-upgrades. iStock is explicit that an extended licence is bought in exchange for an additional fee, and the others describe no automatic escalation. Where a threshold exists, the burden is on the buyer to find it and buy the right tier before the use, not after.
Sources
- Getty Images Content Licence Agreement, read 5 September 2026.
- iStock Content License Agreement, read 5 September 2026.
- Freepik terms of use, served under the Magnific brand, read 5 September 2026.
- Envato Elements plans and pricing, licensing summary only, read 5 September 2026. The linked licence terms returned HTTP 403 and are not cited.
- Epidemic Sound pricing and licensing, read 5 September 2026.
